Kahakuloa Head
Quantum Symmetries:
Subfactors and
Planar Algebras
July 17-21, 2017
Maui, Hawaii
The Maui Sunset

The main topic of the conference will be quantum symmetries from the perspective of subfactors and planar algebras. Other topics will include fusion categories, analytic properties of subfactors and rigid C*-tensor categories, enriched quantum symmetries, and conformal and quantum field theory.

Local information

Talks will likely be held at the University of Hawai'i Maui College. The organizers will arrange for most participants to stay at the Maui Sunset in Kihei, HI. There are many nearby alternatives for anyone who wishes to arrange their own lodging. The airport on Maui is Kahului Airport (OGG). We will help organize carpools from the airport to the Maui Sunset, and from the Maui Sunset to UH Maui College, as the conference grows nearer.


Dietmar Bisch (Vanderbilt University)
Marcel Bischoff (Vanderbilt University)
Arnaud Brothier (University of Rome Tor Vergata)
Ian Charlesworth (UCLA)
Colleen Delaney (UC Santa Barbara)
Cain Edie-Michell (Australian National University)
Michael Freedman (Microsoft Station Q)
Terry Gannon (University of Alberta)
Pinhas Grossman (University of New South Wales)
Bin Gui (Vanderbilt University)
Michael Hartglass (UC Riverside)
Ben Hayes (Vanderbilt University)
Corey Jones (Australian National University)
Vaughan Jones (Vanderbilt University)
Robert McRae (Vanderbilt University)
Scott Morrison (Australian National University)
Julia Plavnik (Texas A&M University)
Sarah Reznikoff (Kansas State University)
Andrew Schopieray (University of New South Wales)
Noah Snyder (Indiana University)
James Tener (UC Santa Barbara)
Kevin Walker (Microsoft Station Q)
Chelsea Walton (Temple University)
Zhenghan Wang (Microsoft Station Q)
Ellen Weld (Purdue University)
Hans Wenzl (UC San Diego)

Schedule of talks

To be announced.


The organizers are Dietmar Bisch, Arnaud Brothier, Vaughan Jones, Scott Morrison, David Penneys, Noah Snyder, James Tener and Rufus Willet.

For logistical questions, please contact David Penneys .


The organizers gratefully acknowledge support from the National Science Foundation.

last modified: 11/23/2016